Skip to content

Reclaimed Wood Birdhouse

April 29, 2014

Reclaimed Wood Birdhouse

I have read about making birdhouses and one of the things always mentioned is the size of the opening for specific bird species. I was at a friend’s house last weekend and saw birds using houses that were not designed for them. Some of the houses were not even meant for birds, they were decoration but the birds lived in them anyway. So I went home and used some pieces of reclaimed wood I had from some old picnic tables I found in a dump. I made up my own dimensions based on the size of lumber I was using. I figured while I was at it I would make it a double decker also. So here is a picture of it in my shop before I hung it in a willow tree in my back yard. If I get birds nesting in it I’ll upload a picture of that too but it may be too late for this season already.

From → Birds, Habitat

One Comment
  1. Good luck!! I hope you get a resident this year!

Leave a Reply

Stone of Destiny

Musings of a Polytheistic Nature

Wildlife Blog

Wildlife Database updated on a regular basis

Flights of Wonder

A year of birding adventures

dreimalkunst

handmade jewellery, flowers in macro, nature morte paintings

THE EMS DIFFERENCE

More than just a paycheck!!!

laurakane1

A great WordPress.com site

Delaware Outdoors

Nature in the first state, Delaware!

Stone of Destiny

Musings of a Polytheistic Nature

Wildlife Blog

Wildlife Database updated on a regular basis

Flights of Wonder

A year of birding adventures

dreimalkunst

handmade jewellery, flowers in macro, nature morte paintings

THE EMS DIFFERENCE

More than just a paycheck!!!

laurakane1

A great WordPress.com site

Delaware Outdoors

Nature in the first state, Delaware!

